Gero Günther

Gero Günther


by Gero Günther in People

Life at the end of the valley

Tirol is home to more than a dozen remote end-of-valley communities. These small villages hidden away deep in the mountains have retained their original character. What is life like there? We met seven people who live at the end of a valley road (and none of them wanted to swap for a life in the…

7 min. Reading time
by Gero Günther in Food & Drink

Climate-Neutral Deer Ragout

Christian Moigg and his son Lukas are passionate about two things: hunting and cooking. They run the Herrnhaus, a fine-dining restaurant in Brixlegg located just a stone’s throw from the forest where they shoot the game which ends up on diners’ plates. I sat down with the father-and-son duo to talk about the entire process…

8 min. Reading time
by Gero Günther in Bits & Pieces

Your Own Private Log Cabin

A self-contained cabin in the mountains is the antitheses of bland all-inclusive resort-style accommodation: It’s a great place for families and friends who don’t mind snow shoveling, wood chopping and cooking for themselves. Vacation or no vacation?

11 min. Reading time
by Gero Günther in Sports

Walking and talking

“Mountains are mute masters who make silent pupils,” wrote Goethe. In reality, however, there is no outdoor activity that lends itself to a good old chat quite like hiking in the mountains. Our author set off along the Stubai HighTrail with his 18-year-old son for a bonding session unlike any other.

16 min. Reading time
by Gero Günther in Bits & Pieces

Snow Kings and Queens

People have developed a love-hate relationship with “shovelling snow”, as the Tiroleans refer to snow clearing. It is exhausting, on the one hand. On the other, there is almost no other job where you can see the results of your efforts so quickly. Ten Tiroleans tell their snow story.

5 min. Reading time
1 by 1

Is your inbox in need of a holiday?

Then subscribe to our weekly newsletter full of exclusive holiday tips from Tirol!



Go up
Down

Gero Günther

Gero Günther

Je öfter Gero Günther nach Tirol fährt, desto mehr ziehen  ihn das Bundesland und seine illustren Bewohner in seinen Bann. Dabei schaut sich der Journalist und Autor genauso gern in Buchhandlungen, Cafés und Ateliers um wie in einsamen Seitentälern, auf Almweiden oder in Kuhställen.


von Gero Günther in Menschen

Endstation Sehnsucht – Leben im Talschluss

In Tirol gibt es mehr als ein Dutzend Talschlussgemeinden. Kleine Dörfer, die sich tief im Gebirge verstecken und oft einen ursprünglichen Charakter bewahrt haben. Wie lebt es sich dort? Wir haben sieben Menschen getroffen, die am Ende einer Talstraße wohnen (und keiner von ihnen wollte mit Stadtbewohnern tauschen).

6 Min. Lesezeit
von Gero Günther in Menschen

In Schreibstube und Skiwerkstatt

Der Lyriker Christoph W. Bauer wuchs im Skiort Kirchberg auf und lernte von isländischen Touristen die nordische Sagenwelt kennen. Heute ist Bauer einer der bedeutendsten Tiroler Schriftsteller. Hier erzählt er, was Dichten und Skifahren gemeinsam haben – und wie er das moderne Tirol erlebt.

8 Min. Lesezeit
von Gero Günther in Sport

Ohne Stau

Tirol ist von einem dichten Busnetz durchzogen. Auch Wintersportler brauchen kein Auto, um schnell und bequem ans Ziel zu kommen. Wir sind in den Öffis mitgefahren und stellten fest: Die Fahrgäste sind weniger gestresst als in Großstädten. Kein Wunder. Der Berg ist ebenso oft Ziel wie das Büro.

9 Min. Lesezeit
1 von 1

Wenn Sie uns Ihre Email-Adresse verraten...

...verraten wir Ihnen im wöchentlichen Newsletter die besten Urlaubstipps aus Tirol!

Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.*



nach oben
nach unten